Music, Sweet Music…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I grew up with a lot of music. My parents had a pretty awesome collection and my brother was a DJ. There was always time for music in my home and I remember listening to my mum singing away to Jim Reeves and Doris Day! I can’t help but smile at those memories because (secretly) I seem to have followed in her footsteps (albeit different artists!)

Music is such a powerful tool. It can lift you, inspire you, heighten your emotions as well as soothe you when you are feeling melancholy.

What else can music do?

According to EMedExpert: “Music is one of the few activities that involves using the whole brain. It is intrinsic to all cultures and can have surprising benefits not only for learning a language, improving memory and focusing attention but also for physical coordination and development.”

The article goes on to explain how music is:

  • Therapy for pain
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Medicine for the heart
  • Speeds post-stroke recovery
  • Able to reduce the intensity of migraines and headaches
  • And so the list of benefits goes on to include its use in relaxation and stress relief techniques.

My takeaway from this is to take time out to enjoy music, not just to have a sing-a-long but to allow it to impact my well-being and life, to enhance my creativity and raise my level of positivity.

Easy to do’s to bring more music into your life:

Let it flow, Music, sweet music…

Live Blissfully!

YvonneB

2 Comments Add yours

  1. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

