I would love to start my own business but…

If you’ve ever been made redundant, had a long period of unemployment or have entrepreneur-593360_1280suffered from unappreciated employee syndrome there is a chance at some point you have thought ‘I would love to start my own business’. Then something comes along to stop that train of thought… and the thing is ‘but’.

And the ‘but’ leads to a list of reasons why this option is not an option at all:

  •     I haven’t got a clue what I want to do
  •     Who am I to start my own business?
  •     I’m not qualified in anything
  •     I don’t know what to do first
  •     I haven’t got the money
  •     I can’t think of a name
  •     I don’t have any support
  •     I can’t do it
  •     It’s just a dream, it won’t happen
  •     I’m too old

Do any of these sound familiar? And how do you push past them in order to ask yourself questions that encourage you as oppose to hold you back? You’ll have noticed that all of the points above focus on what you ‘can’t, haven’t, don’t’ have or know – language that is likely to ‘hold you back’ and focus on all that is not possible for you.

What if you turned those reasons into quality questions? What if instead of focusing on all that is stopping you from starting your own business you focused on the possibilities?

  • What do I want for my future?
  • Who am I not to start my own business?
  • What key skills and attributes do I have to tap into?
  • What can I do each day to move me towards having my own business?
  • What will it cost to set up my own business?
  • How can I raise the money to make it happen?
  • What will I call my business to make it memorable and relevant to its audience?
  • Who can I find to support me, coach me, mentor me?
  • Can I do it?
  • What do I have to do to turn the dream into reality?
  • Where are their stories to show that age doesn’t matter?

Seeking answers to these rephrased versions of the non-supportive reasons turn your focus on what you can do or consider doing in order to start your own business. They stop you from writing yourself off before you have even given your business thoughts a chance.

I remember what it was like following my redundancy 9 years ago. The only thing I was certain about was that I didn’t want to work as an employee again. That led me to toy with the idea of starting my own business ‘but’ I had no idea what that could be or how I’d go about it. I realised that I needed to ask better questions of myself to get better answers. It wasn’t easy because I had never given so much time or thought to ‘me’. Yet it was this very self-centered focus that provided me with the confidence I needed to start my own business.

I’ve released a series of videos on the questions I am frequently asked about confidently starting a business on YouTube so head on over and check them out and if you have any other questions please post them here and I’ll get back to you…

“What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!”  Napoleon Hill

Live Blissfully

YvonneB

Leave a Reply

